top of page

My Story

download (4)_edited_edited.png

My name is Karleene Garcia. I live in Indio, CA. I have a husband of 25 years and three beautiful children, ages 24, 22, and 17. I am really big on making sure that I spend as much time with my family as I can. When I'm not spending time with them, you will find me spending time with my dogs.  


I have been in the education field for over 24 years. Before I went back to college, I worked as a Children's Ministry Director and as a home licensed childcare provider. I also home schooled my children during most of their elementary years. In 2013, I received a Bachelor of Arts in Early Childhood Education and I have been a preschool teacher for the past six years. I am currently working as a substitute teacher for preschool through twelfth grade. In addition to being a substitute teacher, I am a specialized dyslexic tutor working with children and adults who struggle in reading, writing, and spelling. 

I became a tutor for students who struggle with dyslexia because I also have dyslexia. I understand how hard, frustrating, and confusing it is to struggle through school in reading, writing, and spelling. Although, I struggled through school, being dyslexic has made me into the person I am today. I have to work extra hard and spend more time on activities that require me to read, write, and spell. That is why I want to help children and adults who struggle with dyslexia. I want to support, guide, and transform students and their families with hope for today and their future.

Lastly, you may be asking yourself why there are so many yellow butterflies throughout the site. This is because the yellow butterfly is a symbol of hope to me. I find that whenever I see one, it fills my heart with hope for the present and the future.

download (4)_edited_edited.png
download (4)_edited_edited.png
images (9)_edited.png
bottom of page